Reasons for an architect to brood!

As a kid I didn’t have the slightest clue that I would end up in this profession…to be honest I thought I would be an air hostess ( I know!! but what can I say , I just wasn’t an ambitious kid), I still had doubts in myself as my mum kept saying “you wouldn’t be able to even serve people properly.”

Anyway…somehow I ended up studying architecture and then even doing a masters degree in it from a reputed university. As years have gone by , I still haven’t decided if I like it or not, I know it sounds ridiculous but its like a case of bad marriage! I love some parts of it, but completely hate some things about it. I love it…. but hate it too…and I assume only a person who is in a bad marriage can understand this state. He loves her but sometimes feels like pushing her under a bus.😛

Some of the reasons I think for an architect to brood … here it goes

– 1. While still in university, either you slog for weeks before the final portfolio submission or you get stressed out for weeks thinking about how you would finish it (loose your hair in all the anxiety and get dark bags under your dried eyes), in either case you know it, the only thing that you gonna get is a nice ass whooping from your tutors!

-2. We all have that one tutor who during reviews says “I think you need to put a balcony here” and the same tutor in the final review points out loud so that all other reviewers listen to what he says “Why the heck have you put a balcony here?” Bitch move…by that one tutor that we all have. what dipshittery is that?

-3. We all have one of those tutors as well who likes to pluck out buildings from your model which you probably made till your fingers had several cuts and till you started feeling that your eyes might pop out if you stay up more for it. They temper with it, pluck the things out ruthlessly and toss them in front of you…half of the times they do it cause of their sadistic tendencies, they get some sort of rush from it….Even they need some high. well that’s what I have believed.That always helped in consoling myself : )

– 4. As a fresh graduate you literally beg for work or for people to hire you, as they all want a “minimum of 2 years of experience”. This might be the case in every field but believe me its worse in Architecture. I think everything that needs to be built has already been built. Especially in Europe and UK. The only work that’s left is in China. (that adds another language to learn to step up your CV : Mandarin, and ya all know, that ain’t happening)

and the list is long…. would cover it soon! People say, in life follow your passion, do what you love….but why is it hard for me to go away from it if it isn’t my passion is one riddle I haven’t been able to solve so far.

This blog of mine wouldn’t entirely be on architecture but would have me jabbering about all little amusing things I come across. I take out time now and then from brooding over my weird relationship with my profession to indulge in other stuff I dig like sketching, travelling, painting, reading…..singing in the shower…

Leave a comment